preprint reviews by Leslie Vosshall

Dehydration Bouts Prompt Increased Activity And Blood Feeding By Mosquitoes

Sourced from http://biorxiv.org/content/early/2017/04/04/120741.

Richard Hagan, Elise Szuter, Andrew Rosselot, Christopher Holmes, Samantha Siler, Andrew Rosendale, Jacob Hendershot, Kiaira Elliott, Emily Jennings, Alexandre Rizlallah, Yanyu Xiao, Miki Watanabe, Lindsey Romick-Rosendale, Jason Rasgon, Joshua Benoit

Review posted on 28th February 2018

The Vosshall Lab discussed this pre-print at our journal club on 2/28/2018. We agreed that it was a very exciting series of observations.

The following discussion points came up:
...

See full review here.


Modulation of host learning in Aedes aegypti mosquitoes

Sourced from http://www.biorxiv.org/content/early/2017/08/04/172726.

Clement Vinauger, Chloe Lahondere, Gabriella Wolff, Lauren Locke, Jessica Liaw, Jay Parrish, Omar Akbari, Michael Dickinson, Jeffrey Riffell

Review posted on 24th August 2017

Thank you for posting this preprint. The Vosshall lab read Vinauger, Lahondere et. al. for our lab journal club and wanted to share our collective thoughts below. Because of our expertise in neurog...

See full review here.


Cross-species Y chromosome function between malaria vectors of the Anopheles gambiae species complex

Sourced from http://biorxiv.org/content/early/2017/06/19/151894.

Federica Bernardini, Roberto Galizi, Mariana Wunderlich, Chrysanthi Taxiarchi, Nace Kranjc, Kyros Kyrou, Andrew Hammond, Tony Nolan, Mara Lawniczak, Philippos Aris Papathanos, Andrea Crisanti, Nikolai Windbichler

Review posted on 21st June 2017

The Vosshall Lab discussed this paper on June 21, 2017 in our Olfaction and Behavior (Preprint) Journal Club. Here is a summary of our discussion:

This is an important technical achievement, ...

See full review here.


The wiring diagram of a glomerular olfactory system

Sourced from http://biorxiv.org/content/early/2016/01/25/037721.

Matthew E. Berck, Avinash Khandelwal, Lindsey Claus, Luis Hernandez-Nunez, Guangwei Si, Christopher J. Tabone, Feng Li, James W. Truman, Richard D. Fetter, Matthieu Louis, Aravinthan D. T. Samuel, Albert Cardona

Review posted on 05th February 2016

I presented this paper to the Vosshall Lab Olfaction and Behavior Journal Club on 2/3/2016. Here is my synthesis of our discussion.

...

See full review here.


The Ionotropic Receptors IR21a and IR25a mediate cool sensing in Drosophila

Sourced from http://biorxiv.org/content/early/2015/11/22/032540.

Lina Ni, Mason Klein, Kathryn Svec, Gonzalo Budelli, Elaine C Chang, Richard Benton, Aravi DT Samuel, Paul A Garrity

Review posted on 15th December 2015

Nice work!-very cool to expand the role of IRs in biology.

Here are my comments on the paper, ordered by appearance of line number
...

See full review here.